Steve Bertucci

Steve Bertucci

Dear Steve Bertucci,

You were the best teacher I have ever had and the only one who has been very important in my intellectual growth. You filled my head with questions, while others tried to fill my head with answers and those questions have allowed me to find the real answers.

Ever since I took your class, I approach every learning experience, even mathematics, asking the question “why?” as many times as necessary until I get the root of the reason for something. That method of learning is what I learned from your class and I am thankful for it.

I have done well for myself in the years since taking your Great Books course. I am graduating near the top of my class as the National Merit Scholar and will be attending the University of Alabama in the fall on a scholarship that more than covers all my expenses. My highest career aspiration in life is to one day publish something that is taught long after I am dead in a Great Books course. Right now I am shooting a bit high as I just submitted some poetry to the New Yorker on the off chance that they like it.

I have to say, a couple hours a week for one year, your class has been an important factor in me becoming who I am.

Thank you, Stephen A.

