Reflection on Saint Luke’s Gospel

After reading Luke’s Gospel, I was little surprised at how seldom Mary appears in it. After all, isn’t Luke’s gospel sometimes referred to as Mary’s gospel? Luke’s gospel was more down-to-earth than I expected it to be. It was not profound, like John’s. I think that Luke was trying to be lofty but he did not have the insightfulness that John the Evangelist possessed. I did learn something about Christ’s humanity that surprised me. I thought that he would, being God of course, consider our fear of physical harm as unimportant and trivial. But I find that he understands our fear of bodily pain.

When I was reading the gospel, I realized that reading the gospel in the order that the events actually happened helped a lot. It helped especially in understanding why the events occurred in the order that they did. Also, I did not know how many miracles Jesus had worked until I read the gospel from start to finish. After countless miracles, I am amazed that so relatively few were convinced of Christ’s Divinity.

I do feel that I have met Jesus after reading the gospel, and reading the gospel has also changed my spiritual life. After all, the more you know someone the more you can love someone.

